Resurrection of the small farmer?

The emergence of the organic farming and “local food” movements has helped to actually increase the number of small farms.  Some of these farms need harvesting equipment, but alas as the equipment manufacturers followed the “get big or get out” siren song, they abandoned the small scale harvesting business.  Its not that there was no demand for pull-type pickers and combine, just not enough to sustain their business model.   Todays small scale farmer who needs harvesting work is left with scavenging older small scale machines with limited parts availability (with a few notable exceptions wink*wink) , purchasing older larger equipment, or hiring out the work to custom operators.  All of these options have their pluses and minus’s but I do wonder how sustainable they are in the long term.  Ever so slowly there  are less and less small workable machines to choose from with even fewer parts availability. “Overkill” notwithstanding, the older, large self propelled machines can be money pits assuming the parts can be found and don’t cost  your firstborn.  These self propelled machines also have a LOT more to maintain than a pull-type. Think engines/clutches, etc. Getting a custom operator to do your 15 acres is nothing to be counted on ad infinitum. 

With that in mind I have been toying with the idea of rebuilding All-Crop harvesters, the model 72’s in particular.  I would think it would be more cost effective to build all new sheet metal and angle iron for the frame and seperator instead of tearing one down, blasting and putting back together. Salvaged would be the castings, grain tank, gear boxes; basically those parts that would be expensive to reproduce. I would think the rebuilt machine could go for $6-10K.  Question is, would there be any takers? I have heard “your crazy”, and perhaps I am.   But as time marches on the alternatives look less and less appealing for the small farmer when it comes to harvesting.  But heck, maybe I’m just fishing for an excuse to do one..What do you think?

On a happy note I have finally landed a job in town after 5 months of searching. Good to be back in the saddle again.

27 Responses to “Resurrection of the small farmer?”

  1. Dick Denney Says:

    I was brought up on an all Allis farm through the fifty and sixties and had much experience with the All Crop harvesters. My father even had a corn head on a 66. I have spent the last 35 years at a John Deere dealership ( the Lord works in mysterious ways ) I too lament the shift from smaller equipment to the giant sized packages. I think a rebuilt line or even new line of pull type combines could find a nitch market. Thanks for your time. Dick

  2. yazallcrop Says:

    Hi Dick,
    If the niche market in the US wasnt big enough for a new pull type, one would think there would be a market in the developing countries to get to the level of sale units needed…Something simple, versatile, and relatively easy to maintain would be the ticket I suppose.

    If a new one was to built in states the one design feature it must have is to fit legally on a trailer..that is no wider than 102″. Would make it a heck of lot more marketable. I could see a group of small scale farmers sharing one and trailering it easily would be a big plus.

  3. Noah Says:

    I’m a young small scale farmer. We farm 5 acres of mixed vegetables in Chattanooga, TN. I came across your site looking for a all crop combine. I’d heard that was the best. If you know where I can find one let me know. If you start manufacturing them I know a few folks like myself who I think would be interested. And I know as the years go by there will be many more. I’d love to learn about the all crop and maintaining a combine. If there is anyway we could work out a short apprenticeship, let me know. Thanks.

    Noah

    • David Says:

      Hey Noah i’m in Chickamauga. Try Contacting Snead Tractor in Centre, Al. They had a 66 or a 72 on the lot undercover the last few times I was down there. Or Contact Bowman Weaver Tractor in Henegar, Al and ask to speak with Jamie. Either dealer may be able to point you in the right direction. I also know where 2 machines are across the creek from me, but the guy doesn’t want to get rid of them. It would take the 2 of them to hopefully make one usable machine. Good luck in your search and great site and appreciate your work with all things all crop.

  4. yazallcrop Says:

    Hi Noah,
    If you look at my registry page: http://yazallcrop.com/registry.aspx, you will see the closet ones available are in Missouri. Your best bet to find one is to place a wanted ad in your regional ag newspaper. If you dont know what that paper would be, your local TSC store probably has them near the check out. I can put a wanted post on my registry as well.
    You can also ask the folks at http://www.allischalmers.com on the discussion board. I will be a long way from doing rebuilds as I will have to move out of the burbs here near Harrisburg and find a place with some room to do it. My farm is 4.5 hours away so I couldnt do it there. But your more than welcome to give me a call or email and I can hopefully give you some answers to any questions. My contact info is found at: http://www.yazallcrop.com/contact.aspx

  5. doug riedweg Says:

    i have the same dream. as was stated needs to be 8.5 foot wide. think of a hydro swing pull type swather it could cut from either side . pto no deq issues . glad to hear of another with the same thoughts.

  6. yazallcrop Says:

    Hi Doug,

    Gee, lets break into our cookie jar, pull out a few million each and go into business!LOL!

    On the Hydo swing thing. Your saying hydro power is used to power the machine instead of the PTO? I was wondering if thats how it was done with those machines. I dont get too many oportunities to see
    that “new fangled” type of technology. I wonder how one would measure the hydraulic requirements. For the PTO we know we need 540 rpm that
    produces “x” torque..(no idea how much torque a two plow tractor produces at the PTO) how would that translate into a hydraulic power requirement?

  7. Ryan Renko Says:

    Tom, the hydo swing is a hitch design that most new haybines use. The hitch has a hydraulic pivot back at the machine so as the operator is making a turn at the end off a row, the hitch swings to the opposite side, so it can go from a “left hand to a right hand” cutter. Would take alot of fabricating on a AllCrop but would be usefull.

  8. Tom Yaz Says:

    Ryan,

    I went to deere and looked at pics of these, and yes it appears the PTO
    is still used. I would like to see how that gearing works to allow the PTO
    connection to swivel like that.

    Look at this pic: http://www.deere.com/en_US/ProductCatalog/FR/series/hay_forage/mower_conditioners/900series_moco.html

    Now imagine that hitch/pto frame over a pull type under 102″ wide. Would be kinda neat eh?

  9. Tom Yaz Says:

    Ryan,

    Hit the “Exterior 360” button to see it head on to see what I am talking about. Ironic I was reading the controversy of AGCO’s moves and how they are going to use the Massey Brand to equip the smaller “lifestyle” farmers. Yep you can get new anything you want for a small farm except grain harvesting…

  10. Matt Says:

    I am hoping to get a piece of land and do some farming to include grains. If I could get a good unit made for 8-10,000, that would be awesome. I don’t know much about the all-crop. Is it able to deal with sunflower and corn? Could it be blended to be a mower-conditioner or something to that effect? There are definitely some small-scale tools that need to be made to accommodate small-scale, diverse farmers.

    • TYAZ Says:

      Matt,
      You can do sunflowers with an AllCrop, but with the 66 you should have the header high lift attachment.(never have gotten my paws on one) On a 72 its a bit easier, but an attachment is also recommended. This guy made his own:

      As for a new machine under $10k, no way. However, I am gettting started on doing rebuilds as I have discovered there is a demand. When
      I have started actually putting out my first machine I will have all kinds of info.

    • TYAZ Says:

      Should also add that there was a corn head for them, but they are very hard to find. They can be used as a stationary sheller.

  11. peter Says:

    anyone heard of doing amaranth with an AllCrop 72?
    The seeds come from an inflouressence (a mass of tiny flowers producing 1000’s of seeds (bigger than poppy (less than 2 millimeters) about 3 feet off the ground.
    Flax?
    Wheat?

  12. TomYaz Says:

    I dont see a listing in the manual for Amarath; perhaps too obscure a crop. However there is a listing for poppy, so I would think it could do Amarath. Yes on Flax, Yes on Wheat.

  13. Peter Says:

    I want to do Amaranth too. I figure the seeds are around 1mm +-, THE AC 72 does clover so I figure it should do amaranth. I plan on doing flax too. I just scared silly about how to adjust the thing for different seeds. I have a scour-clean with it too. Anybody can give me hints on how to adjust it for different seeds sizes. Perhaps a manual will help? The fellow I bought it off did clover with it last year. Any help would be a god send.
    Thanks
    Peter in Ontario Canada

  14. Tom Yaz Says:

    Peter,

    The manual does not have a listing for Amarath. I would find the closest
    seed listing and adjust from there. I do have the manuals for sale.

    Tom

  15. Peter Says:

    Thanks Tom
    Is the manual you have different that the one I downloaded from this site?
    I see the list of seeds the ALLCROP does, but no adjustment settings.
    Thanks Peter

  16. Tom Yaz Says:

    The manual you can download for free is only the parts catalog. The operators manual can be purchased. And yes the listing I have is only of the crops that the operator manual has settings for. I cant give the WHOLE store away LOL! You can also find used manuals on ebay as well. Just search for on “all-crop”.

  17. Peter Says:

    Please give me a link to the manual you have for sale.
    Thanks Tom

  18. Tom Yaz Says:

    Go to the third page of product:

    http://www.yazallcrop.com/catalog.aspx?pg_page=parts66++++++++++++++++++&pg_desc=AC+All-Crop+Harvester+66

  19. Don Peck Says:

    I just found a model 60 allcrop in a fallen down barn, its tattered but alot of good parts, separators look great. I havn’t looked for serial numbers yet, I’d say its an older one, it has spoke wheels, and it had the A/C 4 cylinder drive engine which looks in great shape. Is there links for people who want parts?

  20. Clovis Says:

    Tom,
    I think that is an awesome idea about building/rebuilding an All Crop for the small farmer!!!!
    I’d say there will be a definate market when you decide to do it.

    • Tom Yaz Says:

      Well I am starting to do the rebuilds, albeit very “weakly” for lack of time and capital…Could do 6 of them right now..hope to get 2 done in next 12 mos…

  21. John O Says:

    You ask if someone would spend $6-10k on a newly manufactured combine. Yes, the $10k is a little steep, but $6k for a machine with a proven design, that last 50 years? I could see myself wanting one. I want to grow a few acres of grain for my family, but I don’t want to be out there scything and picking it by hand.

    But I think you’re going to need to be able to put together all the parts somehow. What good does it do me to have the frame and sheet metal, if I don’t have all the mechanical parts?

  22. Tom Yaz Says:

    John,
    Who said a rebuild would be just frame and sheet metal?
    No reason I cant remaufacture every part if it came to that.

    I am working on my first rebuild. This one is “frame off” and very detailed. From what I have learned thus far, it will be a $12K machine easy. However the fellow I am doing it for is being charged $6K. It wasnt my intent to go full bore like I am when we inked the deal, but I really need to do one “all the way” for marketing and cost analysis. The fellow wants another when this is done and I got a third on the books. Whe I get several good pics on the progress I will load them on the site.

    So IMHO no way in hell would a new machine be had for 12k or under. More like $25k.

Leave a comment